On one of our days in Te Anau we rentes some bicycles and cycled along the lake and for a few kilometers parallel to the Kepler great walk on a bicycle track along a Waiau river which flows from the Te Anau Lake to the Manapouri Lake.
We passed a bird sanctuary on our way and fed a few ducks. They were caring for some takahe, an owl, some parrots and other birds who had been injured. They will release the birds to the wild after they have recovered. 

The takahe are local birds were thought to be extinct between 1898 and 1948. Then a doctor found a takahe on one of his bush walks and they managed to find a male and a female. They bred them and bow there are over 500 living takahe in New Zealand ๐Ÿ™‚

There was a sport event in Te Anau where everyone could choose to run, to cycle or to canoe rounds and just do as many as they want. I don’t know if they got sponsored and donated te money for charity, but I really would like to participate in something like that when I am back ๐Ÿ™‚

I went to the gardens one evening and I really loved that park. It had no paths and a little stream flowed through it. There were several bridges and so many different ways of going through the park. It was really small but I did my run there without getting bored or going one way twice ^^

And they had cute Alpakas next to a cafรฉ there ๐Ÿ™‚ I love them!

