I stayed in Westport for almost a week and had some awesome surf lessons with one of New Zealands best surfers πŸ™‚ I love to make advertisement for the surf school: West Coast Surf! The teacher Mark really nows what he is teaching. He gave us an overview about how waves are being created and how they act when they come close to the beach. The first lesson I managed to stand up on the board, make small curves and gained some confidence on the board. It reminded me of snowboarding. The waves were much stronger on my second lesson and I basically learned how to deal with bigger waves or how it feels if you dont manage to ride the wave. The wave doesn’t care if it is sand or a human or a surfboard they are pushing towards the beach…I had some bruises all over my body afterwards πŸ˜‰

The third lesson I got a smaller board and learned to ride that one.

It is such a feeling of freedom to stand on a board above the water and beeing carried by the wave towards the beach πŸ˜€

